A pipe dream can loosely be defined as an unattainable or fanciful hope or scheme. The expression kinda derived from illusions or fantasies induced by smoking an opium pipe, but in this case the focus is on the first definition. 

For instance I’m a sixteen year old going off to college, and I abso-tively, posi-lutely want to be a best-selling novelist…by the age of 30.  Pipe dream, huh? Trust me, because of that dream I’ve had my share of raised eyebrows and my ‘So how about a real goal?’ speeches and I’ve even told myself that I was aiming for something that wasn’t going to happen. Until one day I came a quote by W. Clement Stone that says No matter how carefully you plan your goals they will never be more than pipe dreams unless you pursue them with gusto(Love that word GUSTO! Makes me feel Italian) Talk about words with truth! I could have the most realistic goal or ‘stupendous’ dreams, but if I put in the work I will get results. So honestly I don’t believe that there is any such thing as a pipe dream, just dreams- plain, old, unadulterated dreams with heaps of possibility. So pursue, pursue with GUSTO like you’ve never pursued before.

Sorry but I have NEVER been that inspirational in my life, thank God that’s over :)!

